Taking time away

This past week marked a few things for me:

  1. 2 months in Exeter
  2. 1 month at my job
  3. 1st application to a management position

Time goes quickly without me noticing. It’s very easy to get caught up in the everyday business of life like trying to find new jobs, paying bills, getting annoyed by little things. They all take away from my joy from time to time and it’s important to let that rest.

This Easter (my first properly Christian Easter, Thank you England), resulted in some great time away with friends at a Cornwall Campsite called Henry’s. A low key reserve right on the water in southern Cornwall, offering psychedelic artwork, secluded campsites, beautiful sunsets, a petting farm, and even an acoustic evening. Not to mention the great time Jess and I had with our friends and the Cornwall family.

During our time away, one of our friends and I discussed the importance of time off as well as the differences between the US’s approach and the UK’s. Now, I love my home country and I am certainly proud to be American. We can churn out some great work ethic and instil it early that hard work pays off. What the US fails to teach, which is pressed upon in the UK, is the importance to reset, take stake of life, and enjoy it. We weren’t made to work all the live long day and not take notice of the world around us.

If I’ve learned anything in the past 2 months (thank you, Jessica), it’s that its important to work, but its just as important to remember to stop working, crack open some beers and light a barbecue on the coast. Or jaunt to a foreign culture and take yourself out of complacency to learn a few new things. It’s hard for me to do, but its something I am excited to work on in the future.

Until then, my interview went well today and I have hopes for God’s will in my work life, as well as preparation of our next adventure together.

Pace e Bene

Leave a Reply

